I yam what I yam

“I yam what I yam, and that’s not all that I yam,”

The names for God, there are a ton. I guess it makes sense.  The name Father, as I have talked about earlier, I like. I have grown to like it even more since learning the Aramaic word Jesus used which is Abba, which we might understand as Daddy.

But my all time favorite I think comes to us from Exodus. In our devotions we were reminded that when When Moses asked God what to tell the Hebrews when they asked who sent him to them, God replied “Yahweh,” which can be translated as i am who i am, or i am what i am, or i will be what i will be, or simply, i am (Exodus 3:13-15). Ever since I was a kid I remember hearing that passage being read and I immediately liked it.

I Am Who I Am. Maybe I liked it becasue of popeye’s old catch phrase ““I yam what I yam, and that’s all that I yam.” Well, when you are young, things like that make a differance.

Ok, this may sound silly and a tad obvious, but there is a huge difference between Popeye’s “I yam what I yam, and that’s all that I yam,” and Yahweh’s, “I AM WHO I AM.”

Popeye’s catch phrase, is perhaps the ultimate expression of individualism. Yahweh’s “I AM WHO I AM,” is perhaps the ultimate expression of relationship. Yes, this name is a mystery, yes properly understood it should invoke a sense of awe and fear. But, as it stated in the book of faith Lenten Journey devotional: The Lord’s Prayer is an invitation to ponder the sacred, to wonder about i am, the mystery from which we came and to which we shall return.

By giving us his name, as mysterious as “I am” is for a name, we are invited into a relationship. But giving us a name, God opens up for us the chance for a relationship and in this relationship we are asked to make and keep that name holy. We have been given a gift in this name, we have been given a gift in this prayer, that we might keep God’s name sacred, as we become what we already are in Jesus Christ.

Leave a Reply

