I take comfort in my stuff

The title of today’s entry comes from the band Hocus Pick called the “Comfort Song.”   Honestly I don’t know to many Americans that are huge fans of Hocus Pick, they were a Christian Rock band from Canada, a collection of odd balls, with a sharp whit, and wry sense of humor. So naturally, I like snappyphp1them!

The main chorus in the comfort song is “I take comfort in my stuff.”  I have to admit, I have a deep and passionate connection with my stuff. I like to think that I have a healthy relationship with my stuff, but it can get in the way some times.

In our book of faith Lenten Journey devotions today we continued our look at the phrase “Your kingdom come…”  We touched a bit on a topic I think we will revisit when we get to the “daily bread” part. But life in the kingdom is about also about trusting in God’s rule.

We worry and fret about so much, ourselves, our family, our job, our future our past, yaddi yaddi yadda… you name it we can in fact worry about it.  Today we worry about our stocks, our retirement funds, our jobs and our mortgages. Now don’t get me wrong, we are not to be rearranging the deck chairs on the Titanic as it were, blissfully ignorant to the pain that is around us, but our devotions do ask us to think about an interesting question. “Is it true that we need much less than we have to live a happy, meaningful life?”

I think the answer, at least for me is yes. Often I find that my stuff gets in the way of happiness rather than promoting it. I worry about my stuff and I worry that I won’t be able to get more stuff. But Jesus asks us to trust in God for what we need.

Need, now there is the kicker… I need very little of what I actually have. I don’t need 10 guitars, but I have them, I need one, maybe two… aw dang there it is creeping up on me again! I have a house full of stuff, I have stuff in the garage, I don’t even use. My defence is always, well I might need it at some point so, there it sits unused in my garage.

Jesus comes to us and lets us know that God has provided for all we need (see Matthew 6:25-31).  In fact there is one thing that is truly need-full. “Strive first for the kingdom of God and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well. (Matt 6:33)

The problem is that enough never seems to be enough. The first verse of the “Comfort Song” goes this way:  “I put my comfort in my stuff.  The more I get, well it’s never quite Enough  Life without it would be really rough I put my comfort in my stuff.”

In this light, my question is: in this day of mortgage crisis, job loss, and family strife, do we dare trust that God will provide enough?  Do we step out to share out of our abundance so that the kingdom will come among us even as we pray, “your kingdom come…”

1 Comment

  1. “I might need it at some point”…. It’s genetic, really! Thanks for the great insights. I love reading your stuff.

    Like

Leave a Reply

