The Word: Calls – Day 11

 

Seven Wonders of the Word.

 

After this he

went out and saw a tax collector named Levi, sitting at the tax booth; and he said to him, “Follow me.” And he got up, left everything, and followed him. – Luke 5:27-28

And just like that BOOM he gets up and goes…

 

not twitter nor tumbler but your heart!

Isn’t that just amazing?  I have always been a tad envious of those people who receive a call like that, so clear so definite, there is no pussy footing around here.  I have seen it happen myself, people have received a call, and within a very short period of time their whole lives have been turned upside down and out they go to love and serve the Lord.

Actually isn’t that what we are called to each time we encounter the Word?  Sometimes our world gets tipped upside down all of sudden , that is what happened to Levi, But there are others who’s worlds are rotated  a little at time, until the call becomes clear. Often I find that is the way the Word works for me. In worship and in study the Word works on me, calling me out of my self centered focus and into a relationship with Jesus and in him with the world.

One of the questions our devotions ask is: “Have you ever had to give up anything to follow Jesus?

Back when I was a kid, we pretty much went to every service at church, unless you were nearly dead, you went to church. It was rarely forced on us, most often it was an expectation, it is what we did, and well when mom said, get ready we  are going to church eventually we all piled into the car and went.  I only have two remembrances where I fussed, and they both revolved around TV!   You see back in the olden days, we only had a few channels to watch, and one count it, one TV to watch them on!  Most often I was outvoted by my Sisters and mother as to what we would watch.  Somehow I thought that if I could convince my family that I didn’t need to go to church I could stay home and watch whatever I wanted!  This hanging out with Jesus was starting to get in the way.

Yeah, maybe I have had to give up something to follow Jesus, in fact I am pretty sure there have been choices I have made or not made because of my relationship with him.  To tell you the truth, I don’t really recall what they were any more.

I guess I don’t look at following Jesus as a calling that requires me to be perfect, it does require me to return to the font to remember that I am a baptized child of God. Each day the call is renewed, it some ways it is the same time after time, but at the same time each days calling is new and unique. Part of what I have to do each day is try not to get in the way of what God is doing and open myself up and offer myself to be a part of what God will be doing in my little corner of the world today. Sometimes those things are little and I may be the only one who sees them, other days I may do little things that in Christ have ripples across the face of the earth. In any case we are called to follow, to do what is need to follow the risen Christ, and to seek to love as we have first been loved.

 

Categories:

Leave a Reply

