The Word: Commands – Day 16

Seven Wonders of the Word

“…Remember the Sabbath day, and keep it holy.” – Exodus 20:8

 

Remember…

Remember… yes I am supposed to remember…

…um, I forget.

To remember, now that is the trick about the Sabbath. Taking one, well that is often hard enough. I have a sticker on my office door that  reads 24/6. As funny as it may seem I can not for the life of me remember where or when I got it, but it is a good reminder of something broader. Take a break, rest and remember.

Back when I was a kid there wasn’t a place I knew of that was open on a Sunday. Granted in Dovery, MN population 104 there wasn’t much to be open, but that was just the way it was. People visited, or went on a literal Sunday afternoon drive, that is if they remembered to gas up the car on Saturday, or they just stayed home.

Were we actually more Christian back then, or did we just take a culturally mandated break?  Knowing history and knowing people, I can’t say as a whole we were all that much more faithful, oh sure the churches were fuller, and the Sundays were more Sabbath like, but did people remember?

It may seem silly to be commanded to rest, but the older I get the more I know why it is a commandment.  Today and maybe this has always been the case on some level, we do a lousy job of resting, and I am not throwing any stones here, I am awful at it. There is always one more thing to do, one more distraction, one more web page to see.  Many of us don’t take the time needed to rest so we can be fully who we are supposed to be and do what we are called to do.  Someday we say, maybe later we think, but unless we remember to rest, rest may find us at the most in opportune time and fashion. (looking over my shoulder to make sure it isn’t creeping up on me!)

But we also need to remember… To remember the who behind the why of the Sabbath.  With all the distractions, with all our busyness, even the good busyness of family and healthy activity, we can all to easily forget why we are here in the first place, we can forget what the source of all these good things is and  take it all for granted until we plain old forget all about God and then wonder where God is when things unravel or fall apart.

The good news is that God is there.  But God knows things work better if we remember, that our relationship and the good things in our life are enhanced rather than diminished when we take time for the Sabbath, when we take time to remember.

Tomorrow is Sunday and if that is your Sabbath, may it be blessed, may you find rest and may you remember, remember all that God has done and continues to do for us each day!

 

Categories:

Leave a Reply

