The Word: Shapes – Day 35

Seven Wonders of the Word

“All scripture is inspired by God and is useful for teaching, for reproof, for correction, and for training in righteousness.” – 2 Timothy 3:16

I like books. It’s not that I am a voracious reader, I am not, but I do like books, I like the idea of books, the feel, the look, and yes even the smell. It is nearly impossible for me to get rid of book once it has been given to me or purchased.  This can be problematic.

I am related to and know many retired pastors who at some point have shared parts of their libraries with me once retired. So, I have shelves full of books, and yes, boxes of books that will remain there for a while because, well I have only so much shelf space.  I have another issue. I only have so much time to read and most often what I read is either to address an current issue, need or concern, and I have another pile that I read for pleasure.  So this means that there are many books that look good on the shelf that I have never cracked open.  Many of these books are classics, the knowledge and concepts they contain could be interesting, and even helpful if I ever got around to reading them.

I also have a whole bunch of Bible’s. Last time I took a count I have well over two-dozen.  These, well most of them, ok some of them get a little more usage.  My two primary Bibles are my floppy NRSV Bible I received from my internship congregation and a NIV I received from my Dad on my ordination.

The difference between the rest of the books on my shelf and these Bibles is summed up in the passage from 2 Timothy. While the rest of my books might be good for one thing or another, scripture is the guide, the context in which all else is contained. This doesn’t mean that the Bible directly addresses every issue, concern or topic that will arise in life, even a life of faith.  The key even in the tough passages is that scripture is inspired by God, and its purpose is for our good, so that we might have life.

Well its Holy Week, and I am at maximum distraction getting things ready for worship, and all that follows, so this is all I got today!  Keep me in your prayers and may your Holy Week be blessed as well!

Leave a Reply

