I Do What I Want!

Jeremiah 3:1-5, 4:1-4

With my cup of coffee by my side, and sleep still in my eyes I settled down to read this mornings scripture. I got to Jeremiah 3:3 and did a, “wait…. what?”  The phrase that locked me up was this “yet you have the forehead of a whore.”

That gets your attention!

There is a good portion of todays reading that isn’t all that pleasant. As I mentioned in my sermon yesterday, Jeremiah is known as the “Weeping Prophet” and for good reason. In our verses today the pain of the unfaithfulness of God’s people is described using the vivid language of an unfaithful and highly promiscuous spouse.

Yet it is not all doom and gloom, there may yet be hope. Even in the pain of this unfaithful relationship, God is not ready to give up on his people then or now. God does ask something however, and that is to return to him, to “remove the foreskin of your hearts.” I think this means that we need to be open, and vulnerable before God. The line that caught my attention earlier is the exact opposite.

https://i2.wp.com/anongallery.org/img/8/4/i-do-what-i-want.jpgWe are often a proud and obstinate people. There is an internet meme that captures this well, “I do what I want.” The thing that makes this funny is that what people do is often absurd and even ridiculous. The point of the meme is that people don’t care what anyone else thinks or how it impacts others.

God is way too familiar with this meme, as it is played out in real life. God cares because he knows it makes a difference, and God is asking us to care too. Even now God continually pursues us, and opens the door to reconciliation. God’s deepest wish is to restore our relationship that we continually seem to sabotage. Today I give thanks for God’s stubbornness in love and ask that I might live into that restored relationship with God and others.

Leave a Reply

