A Song of Praise in the Face of Death

Mark 14:26; Psalm 118:1-29

GPSFORBLOGMark put no detail in his brief account of how the Last Supper ended. Perhaps that is because anyone who knew the Jewish faith would have known that the last hymn sung at the end of Passover was Psalm 118. Pastor Hamilton, in his devotional for today, invites us to read Psalm 118. See what part of the psalm speaks to you most strongly.

  • Psalm 118:6 says, “The LORD is with me; I will not be afraid. What can human beings do to me?” What do you think those words would have meant to Jesus as he sang them in the upper room hours before his crucifixion? How do those words speak to any fears you carry in your heart?
  • Psalm 118:17 says, “I will not die but live, and will proclaim what the LORD has done.” Again, try to imagine the thoughts and feelings Jesus might have had as he sang those words. We’re tempted to think suffering means God hasn’t done anything for us. What can you say about what the Lord has done for you in and through suffering?

 

Reflection

Jesus uses the words and maybe the music of Psalm 118 to carry him to the next step on his way to the cross.  Music often is the device that God uses to remind me of so much.  Just a few notes are often enough to trigger emotions or memories long buried or just under the surface. There are many times when music, or even the words of a hymn are enough to remind me of the promises I have as a baptized child of God, and of His love for me and for all.   I need reminding, and I give thanks for such beautiful reminders in my life.

Here are just two (albeit wildly different) examples of such music and words!

 

Leave a Reply

