Getting Ready for Lent

I am getting ready for Lent. I love lent, and as you can see I do most of my blogging during this time, something I will get into more a little later.

Pancakes!

Tomorrow is the official start of Lent with Ash Wednesday which makes today Tuesday, of course. Well it is also known as “Shrove Tuesday” and “Fat Tuesday” and the culmination of Mardi Gras! This is the unofficial start to lent for many people. There are a lot of folks eating pancakes and doing the Samba, most likely not both nor at the same time!

Many people, I am not one of them.  I love pancakes, and the Samba… well lets just say it is good for everyone if I don’t do that.  But Mardi Gras and this whole shenanigans have never been a part of my piety, the way I practice my faith and live my life.

There is nothing wrong per se with these events I just don’t do them. My loss… maybe.

But here is my point. Lent is a time for faithful disciplines like, study, devotion, fasting, and prayer, these are all good things.  But what is isn’t about is have to.  No you don’t have to give up something for Lent.  You don’t have to take something on for Lent.

Lent wonderful for me because I use to to focus on things. Like writing. This year this blog is now just me, it isn’t my Pastor David blog, that is over at http://www.sjrdb.com and I will link to it on this blog some place.  There I will focus on more church oriented things. Here, well here you will continue to get my ramblings if you choose to read them.

Well, that is it for today… there will be more, its Lent and its time to write.

Categories:

Leave a Reply

