Seed

SCRIPTURE: Matthew 13:1-23

I’ve been working on germinating my sermon (see what I did there?) so let us see what will sprout here!

The first thing that came to mind when I read the text today is that I remember my dad preaching on this text when I was younger and I remember praying and willing myself to be good soil.  Then the horrifying thought occurred to me, what if I am one of the other kinds of soil? Truth be told I have been all the types of soil at one time or another, and I don’t always have control over that.

Ack!

Truth be told I have been all the types of soil at one time or another, and I don’t always  have control over that.  Yes, I do things like reading scripture, going to worship and doing devotions to help make the soil of my heart ready to grow. Ok, I sometimes do those things, sometimes I get sloppy, sometimes I forget.

Here is the deal though as I got older and studied this passage, I grew to love the image of God as the one who sows the seed.  With handfuls of seed God lavishly almost wastefully tosses seed about. Yes, it is true, some of that seed ends up going for naught… but that doesn’t stop God.  I have an image of God as a wild-eyed farmer flinging seed this way and that and doing it over and over again until that seed finds good soil. We may have rocky or packed down moments in our lives, but God continues to sow that seed and rejoicing when the harvest comes

Categories: Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

