Devotion

Matthew 25:31-46

Devotion

I love the photo for this day.  Everything is neat and orderly, the devotions seem to be well done, well practiced and I guess you would all it cozy?  Well, that is what I see there.

One of the reasons I see those things into this picture is that often that is what I hope my devotional life would be.  Truth be told, my devotional life is nothing like this.  It is often haphazard, it can be very sporadic, and anything but cozy!

Today is a perfect example; I am up late doing my reflection and my eyelids are growing heavy and I wonder if any of my thoughts will make sense?  Yes, I am cozy I guess, but not because I am in a groove, it is because I am in sweatpants and a long sleeve t-shirt!

IMG_9938Devotion though is more than just devotions.  Yes they are a great tool and I highly encourage them, even as spotty as I am often in my own practice. But devotion comes in a general direction as well. When we are attuned to God or at least seek to be, this too is devotion.  Devotion can also be seen in what is important to someone.  My photo for the day is an old church building on the grounds of the Reedsburg Historical Society Pioneer Village.

These buildings were often some of the first community structures to be built.  The devotion of settlers found its outward expression by making sure there was a place to worship and to grow in faith as the body of Christ.

The words of Deuteronomy 11 speak to the depth of our devotion on a daily basis. “You shall put these words of mine in your heart and soul, and you shall bind them as a sign on your hand, and fix them as an emblem on your forehead. Teach them to your children, talking about them when you are at home and when you are away, when you lie down and when you rise. Write them on the doorposts of your house and on your gates, so that your days and the days of your children may be multiplied in the land that the Lord swore to your ancestors to give them, as long as the heavens are above the earth.” 

Devotion; the study of God’s word, meditation on that word, and time spent in prayer is not just done by the individual, but it is also taught by example to those who follow.  In our reading for today, Jesus speaks of the final judgment in his last parable.   What I find fascinating in this parable is that each group is surprised to find out who they are!.  For the sheep, in particular, they are so used to doing what Christ taught, compassion, mercy and grace, that they can’t think of a particular time when they might have served Christ.  This type of behavior comes out of devotion, and being completely enfolded in Gods amazing grace.

Ok, its time to be done with my devotions, I miss spelled a dozen words in that last paragraph!  But I gave it a shot and I will continue to strive to be devoted to God in Christ as I seek to do my devotions, not for my sake but for the sake of those God sends into my life!

Leave a Reply

