Commitment – Advent 2023

Well, we are coming down the home stretch. As far as I know, everything is ready to go for Christmas, so yesterday, I cleaned up the area behind my desk. It has been converted with stuff since I moved into that office two years ago! So, I took some time to clean things up a bit. How long it will last is anyone’s guess! What I do know is that tomorrow, Saturday the 23rd, we at St. John’s will start our Christmas celebrations. It’s a bit early, I know, but much thought went into this. People commit to their churches, family, and other organizations, including their workplaces. Ultimately, it came down to how we can best share the Gospel, the good news of Jesus Christ, with as many folks as possible. 

Am I committed to doing a Christmas Eve Eve service going forward?  No. But I am committed as a pastor and a Christian to living into the promises of God in Christ Jesus and sharing that good news. As I study scripture, teach, and preach, I am floored over and over again at the resiliency of God’s commitment to us and the whole creation. This is what Christmas is all about the love of God that has come to us in the fullness of who we are so that we might have the fullness of who God is now and forever.

Leave a comment